Terms Dates Update

Dear Parents/Carers,

We wrote to you on 25th May about progress with our building works and advised you of new term dates. Since then, we have been advised by our contractors that more time is needed for a safe move between the upper and lower sites. The dates for the end of this term are still as we told you, but it will be necessary to start the autumn term later than we wrote to you previously. We would also like to take this opportunity to advise you of the new school entrance and drop-off arrangements for the autumn.

Changed Term Dates

As confirmed previously, this academic year now ends on Wednesday 19th July 2017. The academy will close at 12pm, following celebration assemblies and form time. This will allow staff to safely prepare and pack to move from upper site to lower site.

Please note the following new start times for the academic year 2017/18, which replace those in our letter of 25th May

Year 7 and Year 12 Start Date: Thursday 7th September 2017 (Year 7 until lunchtime)
Year 10 and Year 11 Start Date: Friday 8th September 2017
Year 8. Year 9 and Year 13 Start Date: Monday 11th September 2017

These dates will allow staff extra time to safely unpack. The staggered return will enable us to induct students to the new interim buildings and familiarise themselves with operating on a single site.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the above date changes and assure you that student progress will not be affected.

Student entrance and drop-off arrangements from the Autumn term (see map below)

All sstudents will enter and exit the academy via a new entrance in Potters Lane from September 2017. In addition to the usual drop-off and pick-up areas, a further drop-off zone is also shown on the map on the site of the present Hertswood Centre car park.

Contacting the school regarding queries

Should you have any queries in connection with the above, please contact the school office on 020 8238 7200 or via admin@hertswoodacademy.org.

Wishing you and your family all the best

Yours faithfully

Peter Gillett (Headteacher)

Martin Doe (Chair of Governors)


(Click map to expand)