• "Good teaching, behaviour and safety, and leadership and management support students’ good achievement." -OFSTED 2014
Sponsor and Governors

Hertswood Academy is sponsored by David Meller of the Meller Educational Trust (MET).

“Hertswood Academy was officially launched in January 2013. I am confident you will see a vision for an outstanding academy that will provide for the young people in this part of the country for many years to come. As sponsor of The Harefield Academy in Hillingdon which opened in 2007 and The Bushey Academy which opened in 2009, I am very aware of the opportunity we all have here to improve life chances for our young people. I firmly believe in giving the best opportunities to all and that, at Hertswood Academy, we are creating a dynamic and innovative centre of excellence for the 21st century.” David Meller

Hertswood Academy Sponsor & Governors
David Meller Sponsor
Martin Doe* Chair of Governors
Co-opted Governor
Peter Gillett Headteacher
Tora Hodge Staff Governor
Christine Wainwright Staff Governor
Panos Yfantoudas Staff Governor
Fiona Blackwood Parent Governor
Denise Davies Parent Governor
Liz Longworth Parent Governor
Julie Smith Parent Governor
Ann Harrison Co-opted Governor
Joy Cox Co-opted Governor
Richard Kirk Co-opted Governor 

*Mr Doe can be contacted at chair@hertswoodacademy.org, or by mail c/o Cath Nicholls, Clerk to the Governors, Hertswood Academy, Cowley Hill, Borehamwood, WD6 5LG.


Committee Membership
Curriculum Governor Members: Ann Harrison, Julie Smith, Christine Wainwright, Fiona Blackwood
Associate Members: James Wood (Deputy Headteacher)
Pastoral Governor Members: Fiona Blackwood, Martin Doe, Richard Kirk, Christine Wainwright, Denise Davies
Associate Members: Charlotte Clelland, Claire Kemp (Assistant Headteachers)
Resources Governor Members: Joy Cox, Martin Doe, Richard Kirk, Anne Grange, Peter Gillett, Tora Hodge
Associate Members: Shelagh Musk (School Business Manager)